Am I entitled ??

So since my husband had passed away I have been living off my savings? I have’s always worked and would in the the future like to get back into work . But my savings are dwindling and I really don’t know if I am entitled to anything? I just feel so lost p

Hi sorry for your loss. I have not been back to work for 7 months so I don’t get paid as I am a nurse doing bank shifts. I have my husband pension to live on I think it depends on how much savings you have to get any entitlements. You can get Widows allowance hate the word widow sorry I get 100 a month not a lot but some thing xx

1 Like

Hello, Kim is correct, you can get Bereavement Support Payment, although as it has been more than three months since your husband sadly died, it will be at a reduced rate, apparently. I think that’s a ridiculous law that people should get a reduced rate for applying late, but that’s what it seems to be - maybe check with Citizens Advice Bureau.

As for other benefits, if your savings are below 16k, you’re entitled to Universal Credit if not in work or working reduced hours. There’s a website called “entitled to”, you could try that.

1 Like