Coming to terms with my mums sudden death.

Hi. I’m pretty new to this type of community thing. Only found out about this today when at my local GP and thought I’d give this a shot.

On January 9th 2019 me and my fiancee where speaking to my mum before she was going to bed. Now prior to this night she was “poorly” with “bronchitis” turns out this wasn’t the case from the autopsy. Died from a blood clot in her lung. Probably caused by her cardiomyopathy. And refusing pacemakers to help her heart. But we’ll never know.

As she was going to sleep. She collapsed on the stairs. Struggling to get up and couldn’t catch her breath. My fiancee and my dad then proceeded to help my mum up until she got worse. Losing consciousness and going limp. she Struggled talking to my dad and fiancee but only responded once I mentioned hospital. I made my dad ring the ambulance which they came pretty quickly. But an Air ambulance. road ambulance and a rapid response car later. I realized my mum wasn’t doing too good. Half hour of CPR and every drug they could administer. She passed away on my upstairs landing.

I got to see her sleeping body in her bed. Looking so peaceful. For the last time.

It was my first time seeing a deceased body. It was more heartbreaking knowing it’s your mum. I can remember sitting next to her. Trying to wake her up. While refusing to leave her side. I miss her so God dam much it hurts.

Thank you for reading my story.

Hi Lcrellin, just wanted to stop by and wish you a warm welcome to the forum. I am so sad reading your lovely Mum’s and your story. I found that telling my story was a good way of understanding why I feel the way I do and that it is ok, not to be ok or to act differently to our usual selves. It’s nearly five years since I lost my precious Mam and like you, I sat beside her and didn’t know how to let go…didn’t want to leave her all by herself. Mam’s are so very, very special and I feel your sorrow and pain.