Cut adrift by my family

I lost my wonderful Mum in March 2106 suddenly. She had vascular dementia but her mesenteric artery was cut during bowel surgery and she died in ICU 24hrs later. It was not expected. I am an only child. Have seen my father (who was physically abusive to my Mum and I) once in the last 40 years (when he told me that he needed to ask his other daughter if she would be happy for me to become part of his family - she wasn’t) and only have an Auntie, who is married with 2 adult children. Upon my Mum’s death, she told me that she would be a mother figure to me and always be there. Despite me making numerous phone calls, surprise visits (200 miles of driving) sending flowers and cards, they never phone, contact or bother with me. Since March, she has phoned once. My cousins have never contacted me. I have tried really hard to maintain contact (they are my only family.) I am a registered nurse and I am aware that grief can make you push people away but I honestly have not. I have tried so very hard to maintain contact but they just do not seem to care. I feel cut adrift; as if I have no family, no roots and no way of keeping my Mum’s memory alive within the family. I was coping with my Mum’s death but this has pushed me over the edge. My partner is ill after having a stroke and I work full-time. How do I cope with this? I miss my mum so very much but my partner does not deserve to deal with this, and is not well enough, but he is he only one who cares and has not rejected me. I just have no stability anymore and feel utterly betrayed by the people that I thought would always be there for me. I feel that I should just walk away, but my Aunt is the only link I have with my Mum anymore and so I try to maintain some semblance of normality. Any advice would be very, very gratefully received. Thank you.

Hi JMR,

Welcome to the Sue Ryder Online Community. I’m so sorry to hear about the death of your mum, and that your family are not staying in contact.