Feel so lost

I am new to this, I lost my partner 15 months ago so suddenly he had a cardiac arrest and was just gone , I found him and that stayed with me , Ive done the what if I had got to him sooner , what if he hadn’t gone upstairs , I’ve done them all . It’s so hard he was my rock he always knew what to say to make me feel better , now that he has gone I’m struggling , I am surrounded by family but feel so alone , being alone at home the silence is awful , when does it get easier.

6 Likes

Dear Clare05,

That must have been such a traumatic experience for you, to lose your partner so suddenly and to be the one who found him. I see from your profile that you are only 48, so young and not an age where you expect to experience the sudden death of a partner. I cannot speak from experience, but judging by what I have read in the many posts from others on this site, the time it takes for life to get easier is different for each person. When my mum lost my dad, she really struggled, even though like you she had her family surrounding her. She was always telling me how lonely she felt and how much she missed him. She had always relied on him, so her confidence was gone and it took a long time for her to even want to leave her flat. We encouraged her to meet up with other women who had lost their partners, because we felt they would understand her situation. It took about a year before things became easier for her. (Sadly, not long after that, she had a fall and never recovered from complications after surgery,) I hope that as time goes on, you will find that living with your loss get easier for you too. xx Jo

Thank you , none of my friends have gone through it , they all try to understand, reading some comments on here has made me realise I am not alone in how I feel , my mum lost my dad at a young age too so i try to talk it through with her also xx

1 Like