Grieving alone

Im a 54yr old ex soldier, so emotions are not my strong point. I lost my wonderful mum18months ago to Alzheimers, she brought me and my brothers up on her own after being widowed at 24yrs old.
I cared for her in her last years, I showered her, cooked for her, dressed her and took her everywhere with me. The last year she went into a home which still upsets me, but, i couldnt cope on my own anymore.
I came to this site because I wanted to hear how to grieve and see if theres anyone out there in a similar situation to me.
Thanks for listening.

5 Likes

I am so sorry for your loss. I lost my Dad 2 months ago and my own situation is very different to yours, but i would like to say that my Dad lived with his mum who is also very unwell and can no longer use the toilet or walk by herself, this was hard for him because he was one of 6 siblings who his mum also brought up on her own after being widowed when my Dad was 3. None of us thought in a million years that he would pass before her, but the way my Dad and his brother cared for my nan was incredible, and i know he would have been devastated to see her pass, so I can imagine your pain and also would like to say that you are incredibly strong and kind to have looked after your mum for those years, because i saw first hand how emotionally exhausting it can be. My Dad also hated the idea of his mum being put into a home, but in some cases it is necessary, and you had done all that you could do. There is no correct way to grieve, but my only advice would be to never suppress any emotions. We are all only human and when you lose someone so special it is painful. I have found that talking about it is what has helped me the most, whether it is with strangers or with my family, keeping everything bottled up inside of you will not help.

1 Like

Good morning @PaulK

Sorry for your loss :heart: