Guilt

I am really struggling with finding my father dead, I feel as if I have let him down and I am ashamed was too caught up in my own life to consider how ill he may be. He was never a good patient and hated hospitals discharging himself all the time. I had phone a dr for him the week before he died but she had been and away by the time I arrived. I am a nurse and feel that I have let him doing by not being there. I had been at a weddding all weekend my son went up on the Friday and he was fine I went in on the Tuesday and found his dead body it’s destroying me as he looked so unloved lying there I wouldn’t have gone to the wedding if had known he had what looked like a gastric bleed laying by the side of the bed. I can hardly function all I am getting are constant flash backs to the images in my head and feel physically sick has anyone else went through this and found ways to deal with the guilt and the loss

1 Like

Hi @Karensher I’m so sorry for your loss.
I went through a similar experience. I found mum by her bed in October, she had had a cardiac arrest. She was living with us and less than an hour had passed. It was very quick and she didn’t call out.
Guilt is inevitabile in grief. We always think we could /should have done better, but now you have the benefit of hindsight, which you didn’t have at the time.
Of course you wouldn’t have gone to the wedding if you knew your dad was going to die, but you didn’t know. I still feel guilty 7 months on. If I’d have known mum was going to go so suddenly I wouldn’t have left her side, I would have said and done so much, hugged her and told her how much I loved her etc…it goes on. I didn’t know and I didn’t do all those things.