I’m not coping with the loss of my Dad.

I lost my Dad who was my best friend 2 and a 1/2 years ago after a 4 week battle with undiagnosed metastatic melanoma.
He was undergoing 3 monthly melanoma checkups for the 3 and a half years prior to this due to having a melanoma removed previously. The hospital completely missed the fact that his body was riddled with melanoma and actually extended his checkups to 6 monthly in September 2015. Another department found the metastasis when he was admitted for a chest infection in October and was dead 4 weeks later on his 73rd birthday. I nursed him at home (I’m a qualified paediatric nurse) for the final 8 days of his life.
However, I am no closer to coping with or accepting his death now than I was when it happened. My Dad was my rock and I am the definition of the term ‘Daddy’s girl’ I just can’t move on. I’m still sobbing my heart out daily, I’m always waiting for him to come through the door. I can’t cope with not seeing his face, hearing his voice etc. I thought that grief slowly got easier to deal with but I just seem to be getting worse! It’s affecting my whole life which I know he would not want and would be making him so unhappy but I just can’t seem to live my life.
I’m happily married with children and I still have my mom but I can’t seem to appreciate the good things in my life.
Dads death also triggered the onset of Fibromyalgia which affects me severely on a daily basis so I am trying to deal with this too but that seems to add to the grief as it was always my Dad who kept me strong and he was all I ever wanted if I was ever really ill.
I’ve tried counselling and also antidepressants but nothing is making a difference.
I just want my Dad back. I cannot accept that he is gone.

1 Like