Just lost my Dad

I’ve never used a site like this before but I feel like I need to talk. I knew my Dad was dying for a long time. He was given a few months, 2 years ago but stuck it out. He was diagnosed with throat cancer just before and he had radiotherapy and so many treatments that he got through so bravely and then on the day they gave him the all clear, they diagnosed him with terminal bowel cancer. So he’d had his teeth taken out, made to feel ill and feeding tubes put into his stomach to make him better put in for nothing because he never really ate again. He just talked about all the food he missed.
He was difficult to grow up with because after my younger brother died he became an alcoholic which involved a lot of pain and distance between us but between the arguments it caused and the distance at times, I always loved him.
After the cancer diagnosis he would rarely talk about it but we became a lot closer although he was very confused at the end and found it difficult to understand what was going on himself.
He died at home in the end. Which he was do desperate to do but he died before I got to say goodbye and I got to my Mum and Dad’s just after he’d left this world and had to let my sister and older daughter know and help with what happened next as my Mum seemed to shut off into a world of her own understandably. As the oldest it felt like my responsibility to help with everything and I don’t begrudge it in any way but I feel like I can’t easily grieve whilst making sure that everyone else is ok.
It sounds silly but it’s like today I woke up after the funeral this week and just had the realisation that my Dad isn’t here any more.