Living alone

I am 18 months down the libe from loosing my husband to cancer and seemed to cope quite well until recently. The reality of living alone is hitting home. I am lacking motivation.
Any ideas to give me a kick start?

6 Likes

Dear Chrissie12, I am so sorry for your loss. I have the same problem to find any motivation to do something and even just getting up takes all my energy. But I am quite new to this situation (my beloved husband died this February). Do you have any hobbies you can share with someone else? I know that coming home by yourself is hard because your husband is not there anymore but at least you could get out of the house for a few hours. I went shopping today and actually, I did not want to go out at all but I forced myself after I was crying already in the morning. Sending you lots of love and hugs.

3 Likes

Hello everyone

I have only recently joined this group and my heart goes out to you all. I have read your comments and they have helped me understand that I am not going mad with my feelings.
My wonderful husband passed away in January after a 12 years battle with cancer. Some of the time between treatments we could have relatively good times but, the last six months were a living nightmare.
Although it is 24 weeks, some days I suffer such pain and the number of tissues I use is ridiculous! I am meeting my brother and friends often and I have good neighbours, but it’s the living alone that’s affecting me badly, we were always talking and enjoying each other’s company. I am having counselling but it’s not helping a great deal at the moment.
His two sons and families, who I get along with very well, live abroad but we FaceTime regularly. They will be in the UK next week and we will be scattering my darling’s ashes on 7 July in the churchyard in a small village in Essex where he was born. This was his wish and my promise.
I am absolutely dreading it which is why I am probably in this dreadful state leading up to it.