Losing my husband

My name is Katy,I lost my husband Simon in April,we were married for 22 years,was his carer for 12 years, he was 47,since I lost him I have been struggling,I have lost most of my friends and main support would have been my Mum but she got ill with dementia last year and is in a home,I have just been diagnosed with PTSD

2 Likes

Hi Katy - I lost my husband early in july , we had been married for 29 years and I had been caring for,him intensively for four years - although his death was totally unexpected.
I am so sorry to,hear of your loss, because I was caring for him I felt as though I lost two people when he died, the man I loved and who was my husband and independent, but also the lovely man who I loved who had become dependent on me . And who was the focus of all,my days . I wonder if you can relate to this?

1 Like

Sandra and Katie
Thank you for your posts
I was carer to my husband for 20 years so as you mention there is an extra loss to deal with and process.
I lost the love of my life, my soul mate and confident who made me laugh and knew me like no one else and I lost my role in life/ my purpose which along with working to earn income was to take care of him.
I showered him thousands of times (literally) and shaved him daily and never was bored. It delighted me to make him look and feel fully human when he was unable to do anything for himself. I fed him, took him out and was his hands to enable him but I never thought of him as disabled as he was so alive and full of fun and humour. He was popular wherever we went because of his upbeat attitude but as many of you have mentioned on this site his passing meant the loss of so many ‘friends’ - they simply vanished. This makes me feel like I was just an appendage and not a person in my own right.