Losing my parents

I am new to this but felt I needed to speak to other people who understand how it feels to lose either one or both parents. I lost my mum suddenly on July 16th 2008 suddenly and on the evening of her funeral my dad passed away with prostrate cancer and his funeral was 2 weeks to the day of my mums. Its 15 years this year and I am still grieving but I think people expect me to get over it but every year that passes it doesn’t get any easier.

2 Likes

Hi I lost my mum 3 years ago and the pain is still raw
Mum lived with me for 10 years and I miss her hugs, chats, laughter etc
I had a breakdown last year and have depression and anxiety
I feel lonely especially when I’m not doing anything on a particular day.
Does anyone else feel the same?

2 Likes

I lost my mum suddenly at the end of December and there is nothing to describe the loss. Today I went to visit her wee brother in hospital it was where she worked for over 30 years. I was ok till I got there then fell apart. I could see her everywhere with her uniform on as don’t think there is a ward she didn’t work on. She was probably laughing at me as I got lost, its so big and I always asked her where to go and I was there saying mum where are you for my directions. I am not as long as you but the pain is just awful, so sorry for your losses they are special.

1 Like

I am too struggling with the loss of my mam and dad. My mam passed 6 years ago and my dad 5 months ago. People have said to me I will have to get over it and live life but it is so hard, I am lost and lonely and I do understand how it feels to lose your parents. I am anxious, depressed and worried all the time. I hope that time will heal but at the moment I am finding it so difficult. Take care

2 Likes

Keep posting and talking❤️

Thinking of you too. Sending warm hugs x