Losing my young Mum

I am very new to all of this, and I very rarely talk about my emotions. But I feel like I need to. (Apologies for the essay)

My Mum passed away very unexpectedly on the 1st April 2020, only days after the 1st lockdown. She passed away at Home within minutes of not feeling well, with my younger brother by her side. The last I saw her was on Mothers Day. Mum was our only Parent, my Brother, Me and Her were extremely close, and our relationship was truly really special. She was everything to us. My Brother was only 27 and I was 33.

She worked so hard as a Mum and a Maths Teacher, to give us a happy life. Even through struggles and hard times, she was a ray of sunshine to us, her students and everyone who knew her.

As mentioned, her passing away last year was very unexpected, very sudden and I had no chance to say goodbye. I not only lost my Mum, I lost my Best Friend. She had only just turned 56, and she still had so much life to live especially with her first Granchild who at the time was only 4 months away. She was so excited about our Son! He has her smile!

At the start it was a HUGE shock to the system. I barely remember that night. The days to come were just numbing. The Funeral for Mum was obviously during the 1st lockdown, so we had to choose only 2 of the many people that knew Mum to attend alongside us. I remember a friend of ours said, if things were ‘normal’, we would have had to have the Funeral at the Cathedral because there would of been hundreds of people and students wanting to attend.