Loss of both parents

This is my first time here but I can truly identify with everything that has posted about the loss of a parent. I lost both my parents suddenly to cancer within a very short time of each other.

To go into too much detail would be too painful. The thing is six years have passed since I lost them and I’m still having trouble dealing with it. I had a series of counselling sessions which helped me gain some perspective and for a while I felt like there was a reason for optimism moving forward. Before that there seemed little point in anything, even making meals was a chore.

That has been true, I felt I had made some real progress, but I still find myself becoming trapped in downward spirals. They seem easy to fall into and difficult to get free of and happen suddenly.

Recently I consciously felt more relaxed than I had for a long time then Father’s Day came around and I’ve become trapped in the spiral again. I posted a dedication and photo of my dad on the Cruse website as a tribute as a tribute to him.

Ever since I’ve felt the lowest I’ve been for a long time and it feels like I’ve gone backwards. I just can’t seem to snap out of it this time and my dear mum’s birthday is very soon as well.

They were both such kind and special people devoted to each other and to my sister and myself. After loss you are never the same person you used to be. I thought six years later I would be better able to cope. Sometimes I can, sometimes I can’t, this time it’s the latter.

I suppose I feel a little better posting this message here as I don’t have anyone to talk to regularly and I don’t like to bother friends or relatives.

Thank you for reading this.

3 Likes

Hello @Tony9,