Lost husband yesterday

Hi

I am new to all this and only lost my husband yesterday. The doctors did everything they could but unfortunately he passed away. I was with him in hospital for 4 days and watched him slip out of my life. He deteriorated so quickly before I managed to see him that I didn’t get to speak to him to say goodbye.

I’m not sure how to handle the grief. We were only together 4 years married for 2. And his health had not been great for a while. But his death was still sudden and unexpected. I am having an array of feelings at the moment between numbness and shock as I still can’t quite believe he’s gone. Sometimes I will burst into tears and I know there will be more to come as I have to still organise the funeral and sort his estate. Like some people I’ve seen mention on here I don’t know how I am going to do anything. We have a house together but I can’t bear to go back at the moment as I know he won’t be there and the house is as he left it before going to hospital.
I am currently staying with my parents and have to speak with the hospital bereavement team tomorrow as non of the legal documents have been sorted yet. It all feels very overwhelming at the moment and I don’t have much of an appetite.
It brings a small amount of comfort reading these posts knowing I’m not the only one going through this.
My mum dad and family have been so supportive so I am lucky for that.
But I do keep beating myself up at the moment thinking could I have done more. If only I had spotted his health deteriorating earlier maybe he would still be here.
Although I have family around me I do feel very lost and alone right now

9 Likes

Hi Gabbie