Miss my mum so much

I lost my mum in February 2019 and I’m still struggling hugely, possibly even more than I did in those first few horrendous months after her death. On top of losing mum, I’ve had to give up a well-paid job due to a vile bullying boss a few months ago and my brother no longer speaks to me after a massive disagreement I won’t bore you with now. I don’t have a partner and live alone and my closest friend has emigrated to live in the Netherlands. I therefore do feel so terribly alone and lost and can’t ever see me getting any better. I am now wondering if I need to consider counselling? I have never done any kind of talking therapy before so I’m wondering if any of you have had experience of grief therapy and whether it helped you or not? My life feels pointless. My mum and I were so close. I have no motivation for anything and have lost enjoyment in everything I used to enjoy. Feel I’ve become very self absorbed and know I need to do something but can’t imagine anything helping me because I know I can’t change the fact that my amazing mum is gone.

3 Likes

Dear Jazzy, I am very, very sorry for your loss, it would be such painful and lonely to grive alone. I feel with you. Before my loved father died, I thought that people don’t have to go to therapist when they are griving, but now I think (and I will go to an online group), we have to, because we can’t make the other people around sad or helpless, or they just don’t understand us, or they can’t bare the pain, what we hold. I will go to a group and I will search for a person who I can talk with, who understands me and has time to pay attention and who doesn’t want to fix anything, what we couldn’t fix. If you would like to write, I am usually here to write back. Take care of you. I am sending you hugs.