Missing my father

Hi im new to this site but i am really struggling with the death of my father its coming up to the first anniversary of his death on the 26th of this month and i am dreading it for the last year i have been finding it hard to cope i cared for my dad for 15 years and was the one by his side when he passed and havent been able to get on with life i feel so aloan i have family but they dont understand how i feel i feel list and its as if my life has came to a stand still for over the past year i really miss him and cry often i only hope i stay strong on his anniversary .

1 Like

Hello @forbess, thank you for reaching out the community. I am so sorry for the loss of your dad. As his carer for 15 years as well as his daughter, it’s understandable that you feel your life has come to a standstill.

Many of our members have lost a parent and will understand some of what you’re going through. We also have an article on Losing a parent which you might find helpful.

The first anniversary can be so difficult. Cruse have an article with some ideas on how to get through the day: https://www.cruse.org.uk/understanding-grief/managing-grief/coping-with-anniversaries-and-reminders/

We will be thinking of you too - please do reach out for support.

Take care
Seaneen

I really sympathise with you Forbes. I think when you lose someone you have been a carer for, it is a bit like losing a child. I cared for my Dad for seven years and his death is very complex for me - he was my beloved Dad but he was also someone I protected and thought about all the time - his needs, his comfort, his welfare, his safety. It seems as though the wound of loss cannot heal, but I believe that in time, and with help, it will. May you find comfort and peace, gradually. How marvellous that you were able to look after your dear Father.