Mum passed away on Sunday

I’m very new to all this so please bare with me. I lost my mum at the weekend after one of the worst weeks of my life.

She had been very confused for about a week and she had visited the doctors and the walk in clinic twice (last Wednesday and Thursday) and been told twice that she had a water infection (2 urine tests) and been given a variety of antibiotics to take.

However she wasn’t showing any improvement, so Saturday morning came and she was cold and clammy but sweating and was struggling to walk. I was helping her get ready with the intention of taking her to the A and E but she then had a seizure. The ambulance came and took her in however she had a PEA arrest and another seizure on the way.

After they had ran some tests they realised that her blood was far too acidotic and her already poorly kidneys were now so bad she needed emergency dialysis. She was put into an induced coma and ventilated but they said if any treatment stopped she would die and was in ITU at this point.

They said that her blood acidity was getting slightly better but still wasn’t great. They suggested that we go home and rest which we did but a couple of hours later they rang to say that she had got worse and we should come back.

When we eventually arrived back they told us she had passed away very quickly.

Sorry for the long post, I’m just so upset and have had a bad stomach since this happened myself so I thought talking about this might help me a bit.

Thanks for your time

Kelly

Oh Kelly. It was all so sudden, but it often is. My heart goes out to you at this time. It’s too early to talk about anything much until you get the funeral over and everything sorted.
Have you anyone close who you can talk to? It sounds as if you have.
You have reached out here and I’m so glad you have. It’s a good place to be among those who know the pain.