My Superman

It’s been almost 2 years since my daddy took his last breath in this world ( November 10th 2021 ) due to cancer. I watched my hero, who I called Superman since I was five years old, go from a strong 5’9 ,175 pound ,61 year old ( who lifted weights), down to a 5’9, 125 pound, 61 year old…withered man. I carry so much regret about his death with me. When he was sick, I was there but I worked in healthcare so my hours were extremely erratic. I kinda stayed in disbelief and convinced myself my daddy was really Superman, he would beat cancer and he’s not going anywhere. So I kept working to avoid the truth…he died four months later because as fate would have it, he was allergic to the chemo treatments and his port caught sepsis…I died with him that morning. Since then, I have surrounded myself with any and all things related to Superman that I can find. I tattooed the Superman symbol on my arm with his name…I got more tattoos in his honor and it just keeps growing. I quit healthcare after he died because he wanted me to be a nurse my whole life…but since nurses save lives and I couldn’t save him…I quit. Now I work as a manager in a restaurant because I dnk who I am anymore. I literally lived my whole life to please my daddy. My mother has never cared, loved nor acknowledged me, but with my Superman, I could walk into the room and his eyes would light up like, “ there’s my girl.” Like I was SOMEONE or SOMETHING important. We acted alike, we talked every single day. We were as thick as thieves and when u seen him, u definitely saw me. He was my best friend. Most ppl go their whole lives to have their daddy love them but mine was automatic. He got custody of me from my mother when I was younger and worked 3 jobs to raise me. He put me in a private school to educate me because he dropped out in the eighth grade…he was almost, in my mind, immortal and larger than life… now it’s sinking in, I’ve lost him. I’ll never get that back. I hate going uptown and seeing da