NEW ARRIVAL.

(REALLY hoping someone appreciates my corpse bride reference…)
Hi, my names Georgia. I’m new here, and yes, this is my first time. And yes, I use humour as a coping mechanism.
So, let’s get straight to the juicy bit. As of 2018 I was made a member of the dead parent club, the club nobody wants to be a part of. I lost my mum to cancer, three weeks before starting my studies at university when I was twenty-two. My mum raised me as a single parent, and we had a very close bond. She gave me everything, and Losing her was essentially losing my guardian, best friend, partner in-crime and number one fan all in one.
my ‘father’ and I were estranged due to his heroin addiction and abuse since I was three, until the day he passed away, which was two months before my mother passed away.
It’s been a strange, scary and lonely couple of years…
Though so many good people do such a great job of making the effort to understand, It is increasingly challenging to find anyone who fully and truly resonates with heavy, serious, complicated grief, and how it changes and effects your whole life. It’s been three years, and I have only just now started to crack. I am currently having to take a suspension and leave of absence from my course due to my depleting mental health. I’m feeling pretty upset and disappointed in myself about it. I want to make my mum proud.
I battle depression, and I battle anxiety - which causes me to suffer from an ongoing tight and painful chest, and and my body just generally hurts most of the time. Ive personally found a lot of comfort in yoga and meditation. I still feel as though I’ve lost myself, my energy, my drive to do anything at all - even the smallest thing. I often find myself questioning what the point is in doing much at all, without any parents to see or be proud of me for doing it. I sometimes catch myself forgetting what my mum sounded like… I’m still only twenty-six.