Not able to sleep

This is my first time on here and I hope to chat to people who understand. I lost my husband of 48 years two years ago I’m struggling with sleeping its now 3.03am and I just cannot bring myself to go up to bed. Would appreciate any help and advice that anyone can give me.

2 Likes

Hello hopeful,

Thre’s an ongoing topic entitled “Will I ever have a full night’s sleep again?” which you may like to look at. The latest post on there is only 24 hours old, so it’s easy to find.
It’s a long discussion, and as is the way with these things, it drifts away from the principal theme now and then.

1 Like

Hi Hopeful38.
I was awake too around 3ish which is the ‘norm’ for me these days. It’s now been 20 months since I lost my husband and still I wake up. I think for me it’s a case of not fighting it. I go to bed and read which sends me to sleep but then 2/3 hours later I’m wide awake again. There’s no point tossing and turning so I get up, make a cuppa and read again. It usually works eventually. I accept that this is it now rather than stressing about it as that would only serve in working against me. Reading relaxes me.
It sounds like you’re not going up to bed. I think you need to be in bed for sleep to follow so try snuggling in bed and read or whatever relaxes you.
Also, I feel close to my husband in bed so I like being there even if I can’t sleep.

As Edwin said, take a look at the ongoing conversation.

Sending love…

2 Likes

Thank you so much for replying to me and for your advice. As you can see I’m still awake and I’m downstairs. I think its been hard for me today as it would have been our 48th wedding anniversary and I just miss him so much. Its lovely to find and talk to people who understand I’m finding now that people don’t keep in touch now - I know they have their own lives to lead but I get so lonely even though my daughter and her husband live with me.
Thank you again xx

3 Likes