Overcoming trauma of caring for mum at the end of her life

I’m new to all of this. I lost my mum 4 weeks ago, 2 weeks after her cancer diagnosis. I was caring for mum at the end of her life as she wanted to die at home. I feel like everything has just hit me. I’ve never lost anyone close to me and never cared for anyone at the end of their life. Watching mum decline was traumatic. Keeping my strong face on whilst trying to instill confidence in mum (and my dad and brother) that i had everything under control. I was with my mum when she passed away and then had to tell my dad and brother that she had passed away.
After the funeral this week, i feel broken. Like everything has caught up with me. My mum was my person and I’m so lost without her.
Everyone tells me that this feeling will dull. I really hope so. I’m on a 9 week waiting list for counselling. I probably need to access some kind of therapy before that xx

5 Likes

Hello @Lulu36

I’m sorry for the loss of you mum. It sounds traumatic. Sending strength and a virtual hug :people_hugging:. You’re not alone.

I’m a little further on my grief journey but can empathise. I lost my dear mum in Nov 23. She had untreatable cancer and was gone in 12 weeks. I helped dad to care for her, and watching her decline was just awful. It was a privilege to care for her though as she wanted to die at home and she got her wish.

That was 14 weeks ago. The rawness dulls but I’ve not started healing yet to be honest as my dear father died 5 weeks ago and knocked us all of course. That was sudden and traumatic.

You’ll move into different phases of grief I’m told. You’ll never ‘get over it’ but learn to live with a piece missing.

They don’t really like you getting counselling until at least 6 weeks after (if not longer) so that the shock can wear off a bit.

Do you have an employee assistance program? If so, you may get counselling quicker. And there are lots of books.