Return to work

I feel sick with anxiety about returning to work tomorrow. My partner died suddenly 8 weeks ago at the age of 44. Every emotion like everyone under the sun. I’m going back on a phased return and know it will be good for me with routine in the long run. I’m not worried about people mentioning or not mentioning to me about what happened but more that its another step towards normality. Nothing will ever be normal for me again, I’m just plodding on but still feel in my own world. Everyday I try to do a little bit to keep busy but get so angry at what he’s missing out on. I’m just numb at times, heartbroken

1 Like

Hi Jenn. I was so glad I had just retired when my Ron died.
I was a shop manager for a local charity and Ron often called in.to see me and to collect me from work. He used to help the charity with lots of things and he was always stood at my desk while I worked or he would help me with cashing up by writing all the amounts down on a piece of paper so I could transfer to the bank book.
I have been in the shop a few times since he passed and I can almost feel his presence there. I don’t think I could have faced going back there to work as I have too many memories but I think the work ethic is a good way to keep you going forward. I wish you luck.

2 Likes

Hi, its sooo hard. I feel so cheated after finding happiness again after years of being on my own to cruelly be taken away in a heartbeat literally. My Jay collapsed in the street, instant heart attack. I’m so guilty as we rowed before that and wasn’t there to try and help. I work in the medical side of things so going through every scenario what I should’ve noticed etc. Nothing is going to bring him back, the emptiness is horrendous. I have good family and friend support but nothing comes close to him. I’m dreading being normal and doing normal things because inside I’m far from it. Day at a time, take care xx

1 Like