Still struggling 6 months on

Hello,
Like many this is my first time on any thing like this. I lost my husband in January this year. After 47 years together he was my best friend, life partner, my everything. Roy my husband was diagnosed with a brain tumour just over 3 years ago and fought what was literally a battle right to the end. I now just miss him, I never thought I would feel this empty, alone and to be quite honest lonely. I sometimes feel I’m going backwards and wondered does it ever get better?
Love to you all
Sandie

Hello Sandie
I am so sorry that you have lost your husband but glad that you have found your way to this site because everyone here understands and tries to support each other.
I know six months must seem like forever but it is not really very long at all and your feelings are as normal as anything is on this new journey of ours. My partner died two years ago and I have progressed to where I am now in a series of fits and starts…even now I have bad days and times when I feel I am going backwards but somehow I have progressed through the awful rawness into a calmer and more accepting existence. Loneliness is difficult to cope with but it is possible to find joy in our aloneness and I know that although my other half is no longer beside me physically he resides within my heart even more strongly than before. Life is not what I had hoped it would be but it is still worth the living. Don’t give up and do keep posting…take care x