Sudden death

I lost my husband of 47years over 9 months ago
While I am coming to terms with the fact that he has died I am struggling with the suddenness of it
He was 70 and relatively fit . He went to take the car for a service . He looked well and was absolutely fine that morning
He never cave home as he collapsed in the street and died a short while later from a heart attack
The police came for me and I was rushed to the hospital but he was dead by the time I got there
How do I deal with this as I keep going over and over it

6 Likes

Hello @Annie17,
I am so sorry your husband died and so suddenly. This is hard. This is so difficult to understand. I am no expert, my bereavement, too, was very different, a long and slow decline, so time to prepare - as much as one ever can. I think some counselling might help - or talking with friends or family members who can understand or at listen as you pour it all out. You were together for a very long time and that connection, that running conversation you were having, that companionship, just ended with no warning. That is tough beyond. Talk about it, keep talking about it and you will find a way to comprehend it - and maybe keep talking to your husband. I do that, all the time, it helps. Loads of love, my friend.

7 Likes

@Annie17 my partner died suddenly and unexpectedly in January, he went out for a bike ride and didn’t come home, he was 49. First I knew was when the police came to the house. He’s life was over in 1 minute, massive cardiac failure.

5 months in, I still have days of complete devastation but there are many days of a new normal. I still expect him to walk through the door and I miss everything that we used to do and things we won’t do anymore.

I have some difficult times coming up but I will take a day at a time. Life will never be the same but I will take it slow and see what the future is as I can’t avoid it.

4 Likes

Annie17
Sorry for your loss big hugs,