They have gone

Hi everyone

I am new to this so please hold on tight. I am under 30 years old and have now lost both of my parents. Lost my dad 5 years ago to cancer. And lost my mum back in March 17 to alcohol. I have been really struggling. My friends and partner don’t understand what this is like.

How does everyone cope?

Hi SophMay

So sorry to hear about your Mum and Dad. It is a very hard emotional burden you are having to bear at such a young age. My son also under thirty lost his Dad 4 months ago and I have been diagnosed with Cancer. He seemed to be coping ok but yesterday broke down sobbing. He too says he cannot talk to friends as they don’t understand. Unfortunately no one does until it happens to them.

The only advice I can give is find someone to talk to - a counsellor or therapist who can help you to process your feelings about what has happened. You have to go on and live the life your Parents would want you to.

Sending you a big hug

Yvonne x

Hi - I’m a little older than you (46), but found myself in much the same position in 2015. My Dad had suffered a brain injury as a result of treatment he had for cancer 12 years previously. He very nearly died twice back then. My mum was his carer. Then, on her birthday in April 2015, my Mum was diagnosed with terminal mesothelioma (caused by asbestos). She lasted just 4 months. The care of my Dad was left to me (I’m an only child), which was tough as I have a young family and a demanding job. My Dad really couldn’t cope on his own even with the help I was providing, and I’d reached the point where I was going to have to force him to go into care. It was heart wrenching. I had an appointment for social services to assess him. He had no idea about it but, mercifully in some ways, he died the previous day from a massive heart attack.

I was very close to my parents and, as you might imagine from your own experience, I was in quite a mess after all that!