Too embarrassed to talk

I’m a police officer and lost my boyfriend in tragic corcumstances 4 years ago. I’ve struggled ever since. I have bottled all my thoughts and upset away and never spoke about it to anyone. Recently I’ve been having trouble sleeping again, I wake up with night sweats and my heart is racing. I have flashbacks and literally lie awake for hours tossing and turning. Due to lack of sleep I have no energy and struggle to stay motivated in work. I feel like I can’t talk to anyone and it’s really getting me down. As a police officer I deal with awful things and my colleagues become ‘immune’ and often make a laugh and a joke about things. I am too embarrassed to talk to anyone and feel like I can’t go to my doctors as I don’t want to have depression/ anxiety on my record as it will effect my future career aspirations. Anyone else been in a similar situation I really need help and advice on what to do. I have never felt so low, lonely and down.

Hi Sam,

Nobody is immune from feelins or grief. Seeing something as part of your job, and experiencing it as part of your family, are two very different things.

Have you considered going to your GP? They can be a great place to start x

I have considered it but can never bring myself to do it. I’ve made appointments in the past but can never find the courage to talk. I feel like I can’t talk to anyone, I’ve seen the stigma with mental health in work and I feel so embarrassed by the way I feel. X

I know that feeling - I work in mental health and have 3 diagnosed mh conditions.

Sometimes it can take a bit of ‘shopping around’ to find a good GP, but they’re worth their weight in gold when you find them. Have you considered writing it down so you don’t have to speak it? More recently I’ve started art/collage/writing things that I find difficult to communicate.

GPs are very used to people coming and offloading so you absolutely won’t be the first or last they’ve ever encountered x

Hi Sam