4 days on.. Can't see a future

Dear All
I am so relieved to have found this forum. My beautiful, kind Dad died on Valentines Day. My Mum called and screamed ‘hes dead, he’s dead’, the paramedics arrived, I arrived my Mum had tried, after 30 minutes it was over. Apart from the unmeasurable pain and shock I feel. I am trying to help my Mum who just wants to be with my Dad. They were childhood sweethearts… I cannot see ahead to this bleak, agonising future. Me and my siblings are round at my mum and dad’s, I have come home briefly because I have 2 children (age 9 and 12), husband and Dogs that all need me. Our Dad was our rock, we are such a close family… I find already that although my husband is sympathetic, he has no understanding, and I am becoming irritating to him. I am a nurse and feel I should have done more. He told me he had had hiccups for a day. I questioned him about indigestion, and suggested checking his blood pressure. I also told him he should see a GP if no better, because it could be related to his heart. I saw him again briefly 2 days later and he said that he felt OK now. However that isn’t the story I now know, but no one told me. I feel absolutely shattered. At the end of today we are expecting the coroner report…

I am very sorry for your loss. I lost my dad very suddenly six weeks ago, he was 66. It is the most horrendous shock. It’s only 4 days and the rawness will settle. I, like you, have a husband and 2 children and know I have to keep going for them but I just can’t see how I can ever be happy again.

I have some days that are better than others, today is a bad day. I am racked with guilt and regret and although I’m constantly being told I shouldn’t feel this way - I do.

I have found that no one has a clue what the pain and suffering is like unless they have been through it.

I’m thinking of you and hope you have people around you that you can talk to. If not feel free to message me.
X