4 weeks today

Hi this is my first time writing on the site, 4 weeks today my partner died, the hospital rang saying I needed to get there as quickly as possible, the hospital was a distance away & sadly I didn’t make it, he had been in for nearly 6 weeks having treatment, they even discussed discharging him, but he caught pneumonia, even then I thought he would be ok, he FaceTimed me 20mins before the hospital rang so I didn’t expect anything to happen, I keep busy during the day working, but I’m so lonely at night on my own, I do have friends & family, but they have their own lives, I have read other peoples posts & I wonder if it ever gets easier

9 Likes

Hi Rubyroo -my wife died on the 1st May this year, she had lung cancer and had been given about 6 months in March when she had been admitted to hospital, I managed to get her into a hospice and then her final 2 days in a nursing home. Her death when it came, was sudden, I was out for a walk at the time and I had call from the nursing home to say my wife’s breathing was erratic, by the time I got there which was only a few minutes she had passed away. Neither of us have any family and the days since her funeral are long and empty, we knew each other for over 40 years.
People say it will get easier but each day is full of tears and emptiness.
I am glad that I found this site as the support from other people in similar circumstance is just what is needed at the moment. Pete

8 Likes

Hello Rubyroo,

I’m part of the Online Community team and I can see that you are new to the community - I’d like to thank you for starting this thread and sharing how you are feeling. I’m so sorry to hear about your partner and how you are feeling. It must all be such a shock still. Most community members have sadly experienced the death of a loved one and so will understand some of what you are going through.

You may also find the following Sue Ryder resources helpful: