9 months since hubby passed

Hi Everyone,

I’m new to this so I apologise if I’ve got it wrong.

I lost my husband in August last year to Alcoholism, in the beginning I had friends to turn to but now I feel I can’t talk to them about my huge sadness because I think I might come across as boring, I cry everyday, I feel like I can’t keep control of my life, they say ‘you’ve got your memories’ and yes I have, but they can’t replace him, I’m tired of making all the decisions although I know I have to, someone even suggested I join a dating site, I dont think so, there’s absolutely no way I would ever consider it, my hubby was my childhood secret crush ( we lived 2 doors apart) he meant the world to me!
When people ask how I am, I just reply ‘I’m ok’ as its easier than explaining why I’m not, I just feel so lost without him.
Julia

4 Likes

Hello Julia,

I’m so very sorry for the loss of your husband.

All of us on here who have lost someone like you have will identify entirely with your feelings and your heartache.

I’m sure your friends won’t find you boring, but I understand why you’d feel like that. We can’t just suddenly be ok after such a major loss.

Reading other people’s posts on this site will help you and you’ll realise that unfortunately there are so many of us in this sad situation.

It’s hard having to make all the decisions, it’s hard waking up alone each day and having to carry on without them. I find it hard even now after 15 months.

I feel ok today but I’ve had a few “down days” this week, I don’t cry necessarily, just feel deeply, deeply sad and feel my darling husband’s loss so profoundly.

Whoever it was who suggested you join a dating site obviously doesn’t know you very well!

Be kind to yourself, rest when you want to, as this grief journey is exhausting. You will feel lost without him Julia, but talking to others on this site will help you.

Take care, sending love
Janey xx

1 Like

Hi Janey,