Anniversary

I lost my 26 year old son to a drug overdose 3 years ago tomorrow. Grief is unbearable As well as the shock of his death I had got an injunction on him so hadn’t seen him fir previous months. The feeling of guilt is in tense and doesn’t go away. I feel I cannot grieve him properly or remember any good times we had I only remember the bad times Unsure if this is grief or if I’m still traumatised. I just wish I could have one more chance to tell him that I loved him

He had a daughter who he never got to meet and I’m lucky that we get to spend time with her every weekend. But that’s painful to me too she looks just like her daddy. My granddaughter lives with her grandparents due to her mum continuing to use drugs

This is my first time on this site I hope it gives me strength to not be frightened of my grief I try and carry on fir my 3 daughters and be strong and not show them that I’m struggling with my grief. But I know this is not healthy fir me

1 Like

Hello @Liz1, well done on starting this thread and reaching out - we know taking that step can be hard, and I do hope it gives you strength.

I am so sorry for the loss of your son. It sounds like this was a very complex and painful situation for you and your family. We have a Losing a child category here where you can meet others who have sadly experienced the loss of their child, too.

You mention that you’re struggling with your grief, so I wanted to share some support options you might want to take a look at.

There is also an organisation called The Compassionate Friends, which many of our members have gotten support from. It’s for families who have lost a child of any age. They are on 0345 123 2304 or you can visit their website at www.tcf.org.uk/