Bereavement affecting life now

Hello, I lost my dad, my most precious person ever, in the pandemic. It’s 9 months today and I feel worse than ever. My husband has been amazing, BUT I feel so isolated from him, he has done things to make me feel better and gives me the space I need, but I fear if I don’t engage back soon… How on earth do you live after a loss, I can’t seem to do it, please tell me how you all manage, I feel so sorry for him he’s been amazing but I just can’t get back into life - I feel like I want to be alone all the time, that’s not the relationship we had, I feel terrible for him xx Does anyone else feel like this or is it just me :’( x

Hi. My Mum died last Feb. I have three kids 8, 7 and 5 and my husband. I go through the motions and do occasionally find joy in life but I’m exhausted all the time. I often just want to be on my own. I am a teacher and have enjoyed working. But then I am emotionally drained when I get home. My husband has also been great but all I do is cry xxx

1 Like

Hi TCT,

I lost my dad 19 months ago. I isolated myself for nearly 9 months - which is the point where you are. I also had the realization that my husband and kids were not receiving the attention they normally do from me. That is just part of grieving and your husband understands. Obviously, it is not a sustainable way to live. As you realize it more and more, you will naturally regain your normalcy and re-engage with your family and friends.
At the point where I am now, I hide my feelings from my family and grieve privately. It no longer consumes my every waking thought. Thats what people mean when they say that it gets better with time. In time, you become better at compartmentalizing.

The key for me was that I did not want to regret missing out on life - we are still here afterall. At 19 months, I can function, be fun again, enjoy small talk, and concentrate on projects.

This forum has helped me tons.

Warmly,
Ell

1 Like