Broken

Sorry I’m new to this don’t know what I’m doing. Not new to bereavement though been struggling for 20 years

2 Likes

Hi,

It’s hard to know what to say. Is it one bereavement you’re struggling with, or a whole series?

I am both unlucky and lucky in one way: my father died when I was 7, and I watched my mother grieve for him for the rest of her life. She’d go round and round in circles, she’d be doing something normal, such as peeling potatoes, then suddenly she’d say, ‘I’ve just realised that I was married for 27 years, and soon I’ll have been a widow for 27 years’. The only person she voiced her feelings to was her sister and then me.

My father died in the 1960s, things were different then. There wasn’t the support then that there is now.

You’ve taken a very important step by coming here. I hope that, in time, you will find the help that you need to escape the cycle of entrapment that results when you for whatever reason don’t get the help that you need.

Even 20 years ago, things were different. Now it can be as simple as young to your GP and saying that you feel broken by grief. There are a lot of people who feel that way. Sue Ryder offers free online counselling, which helps you to do the same thing.

I’m up now because there’s a buzzing fan in my bedroom en-suite that is driving me nuts. I got an email from my neighbour last night saying it was driving them nuts too. I managed to disconnect mine, and emailed them to say that. They apologised and said they’d fix it as soon as they got up.

A simple parable, but that’s life. I managed to get 6 hours sleep, I guess they slept somewhere else. Grief is the same. Try not to suffer in silence, try to talk to someone who can help.

This isn’t much, but I hope it helps you to realise that you are not alone. My husband died nearly 7 months ago. I was in shock, then I couldn’t stop crying, now I’m just beginning to see my way to the future without him.