Can't believe Mum's gone

My Mum passed away 3 days ago. She’s been poorly for quite a while and I’ve been caring for both my parents for about 10 years. My dad has advanced dementia. I know I’m still in shock because I found her slumped by the bed on the floor. She was in quite good health after fighting an infection and was discharged from hospital a couple of days before. We were laughing and singing together at a TV programme the night before. I’m in total disbelief. I just don’t know what to say or do. I just wanted to tell somebody who’ll listen and understand. We were so close and she had always been my best friend. I can’t make sense of anything right now.

1 Like

My mum passed away 16 days ago after a 7 week diagnosis. I’m finding it difficult to accept that everything has happened so quickly and suddenly. For a few split seconds every day I forget and then the realisation hits me like a ton of bricks. My mum was also my best friend and the sense of loss is indescribable.
Thinking of you.

1 Like

I am so sorry for your loss, Minty and for yours Bella. My Mum died, a month ago, 8 weeks after falling and breaking her hip. For a while it seemed she’d recover and then, suddenly, she was dying. She was my best friend, too. I miss her so much. We were great companions and now life feel so terribly empty without her.

My mum died 4 months ago… i miss her terribly, i hate my life now… my mum was my best friend the one true person i could rely on. So sorry to you all…im thinking of you minty bella and annes son hugs x

Hello,

Another in this Mumless club. 7 months on and I miss her so much every day. It is lovely that there are so many of us out there who had their Mum as their best friend. I cannot understand people who moan about their parents, they don’t know how lucky they are and what they will lose when they pass away.