Celebrate the little wins

So, how about in the midst of our misery, we celebrate our achievements. No matter how small.

Today I turned on my husband’s laptop, for the third time in 5 months. I need to send a letter to a bank that I have been having problems with. I know I could write it by hand but I decided it was time to master the technology monster sitting where he left it.

I actually typed a letter, saved it and printed it. I have never done this before. I could have written 10 letters by hand in the time it took. Making the little arrow point at little icons and reading what popped up. I still don’t understand what they all meant, I just kept pointing until I found relevant descriptions.

No doubt this is a fairly pathetic achievement, but it made me happy.

Today, a letter. Tomorrow, who knows.

5 Likes

Well done Willow112….what a great idea……
I’ve been trying to sort out one thing a day for a few weeks now………today was the Council tax……oh what joy! :scream:
I’m not tech savvy at all….but yesterday actually managed to pay in a cheque on my phone………woo hoo!
Today the Council tax phone call fried my brain cells though…so I am already counting down to my can of beer this evening………
How sad is that!
:crazy_face::beer:
On the down side….Im still in my pyjamas today………but I don’t care! :crazy_face:

Don’t undervalue your achievement. To do this with no one looking over your shoulder and instructing you is remarkable. I rarely use the laptop now and do just about everything on my iPad. I think if I were to write a letter on a pc now I would need to follow the same process as you. The only advantage I might have is knowing what the icons meant. Just a tip. Try and run something through the printer regularly or they jam up. The ink clogs. The trick is don’t be frightened of the computer.
Xx
Sandra

1 Like

I am more than a little bit jealous. My council tax office have never answered the phone. And I didn’t know you could pay cheques in with a phone.