deano

Hi everyone i am new to this but i have read lots off post and they all mirror my own feelings ,my Dennis died in april and i have felt so lost and alone dispite having a lovely family ,but this week i have been worse than ever criying none stop just wondering if its ever ever going to get to a stage where it bearable thanks

Hi Teresa,
I am so sorry to read all of this. I think It is still too early for you to feel as though things should be getting better.
Someone, a doctor no less, told me with a straight face that the “normal” grieving period is 6 months??? I thought
Oh yes you have obviously never lost anyone close to you.
Take your time
the old cliché of a day at a time seems appropriate. Today awful
may feel like that for a while then you may get the odd moment of ease. Sorry for stating the obvious. You probably know this.
Are you sleeping OK?
Take good care
Regards
Dave

1 Like

Hello Teresa

My name is Alan and I lost Helen, my wife, some 11 weeks ago - we were married for 46 years. So sorry to hear that your grief is feeling worse some 6 months on. The strength of your loss shows the strength of your love, the love that you gave your Dennis and the love that he gave you. That love you still have and will never lose. And there is the impact that he had on your family and on friends that lives on too.

Whilst every day can seem like an eternity perhaps 6 months on is such a short time when you think of the 48 years you had with Dennis. I’m glad that you have a lovely family but perhaps some counselling may help - if you’ve tried and it failed perhaps a different sort would be worth a try, perhaps there are some bereavement groups you could join and just dip in and out of when it suits you.