Depression and Anxiety

My partner of 41 years died suddenly 7.5 months ago. He had a massive stroke whilst we were watching television - he was 77, He died in hospital the next day. It was an awful shock as I had not been prepared for it. I have no family and I find it very lonely which makes me depressed and anxious. I do have two friends that try to get me through it. However I find having to make decisions without anyone to help very difficult. I do not like relying on two friends all the time. Quite a lot has gone wrong in the 7 months and I am not good with technology which he helped me with. I do get a few better days but when something goes wrong I have to find help and it puts me right back to a very low mood. I do not like living alone but I am told that things will get better - I hope so.

4 Likes

Hello @flowergarden,

Iā€™m Seaneen and I can see that you are new to the community - Iā€™d like to thank you for bravely starting this thread. Iā€™m so sorry to hear about your partner. Most community members have sadly experienced the death of a loved one and so will understand some of what you are going through.

Iā€™m sure someone will be along to offer their support, but I wanted to share a few Sue Ryder resources with you that might be helpful.

I really hope you find the community helpful and a good source of support and I also hope you feel you can access more support should you need it.

Thank you again for sharing ā€“ please keep reaching out and know that you are not alone.

Take care,

Seaneen

@flowergarden I know what you mean about making decisions. Me and my husband made every decision jointly we agreed early in our marriage that we would do this and it worked for us for forty years. We married young and he was only 61 when he died suddenly and unexpectedly on Christmas Eve it was an terrible shock. This site is a great source of support itā€™s good for sharing how youā€™re feeling and also listening in to the things other people say x