does it get easier?

Hi my name is donna im new to all this iv never posted anything before so ere goes im going to give it a try
I’m 28 and recently lost my mam to cancer she had been fighting for many years. She had breast cancer first then secondary breast cancer in the liver. I find it hard without her. And not only I had to watch my mam suffer my dad has MS and watching him getting worse after loosing mam is upsetting as they say stress and bereavement can make the symptoms worse for him. I just wished I had a healthy mam and dad but I was told when I was 16 that dad had MS and I was 20 when mam was diagnosed so I just feel I dont know anything else cz thats how life was for me… iv grown up with things like they wer but when I look back I wish I had it easier

Hi Donna. Glad you posted :slight_smile:

To answer your first question - yes, it does get easier. But there’s no right or wrong way to handle stuff like this and no defined length of time that it should take. Everyone’s different. What we know though is that talking about it does help and can make things easier to handle - so well done for sharing on here and trying something new :slight_smile:

It sounds like a terribly difficult time for you. Coping with someone dying alone is normally hard enough, but add in your Dad’s MS too… I can’t imagine how hard that must be.

It’s true that you don’t know anything else, having had to deal with an MS and cancer diagnosis in the family at such a young age. It’s a lot to take on and deal with for anyone at any age… It’s completely understandable that you wish you had it easier.