Dying

Hi I’m new to this my partner went into hospital Jan 2024 with his foot had a wound and was an ongoing problem he diabetic he ended up in local hospital then transferred to another hospital he showed signs of high potassium levels in his kidneys with high temperature ended up catching flu on ward went downhill fast after the flu he ended up with a cardiac arrest took 15 minutes to bring him back got him back he was put in an induced coma had sepsis and kidney and liver were the first to take the hit he been on the breathing ventilator and sedated for over 90days having reduced sedation to try him off ventilater put in a tracheostomy in the hope he would be weaned off sedation to be fully awake he was on dialysis on and off throughout to try to heal the damaged organs but each time he came off he had to be put back on dialysis as he wasn’t improving they took him off ventilator and put him on another smaller ventilator in the hope he would be weaned so can get through the stages of having the tracheostomy taking off he managed 1 day on the new ventilator and he deteriorated overnight 5.30 next morning got phone call to say there was nothing more they could do and everyone agreed that its in his interest to let him die with dignity I’m still waiting for him to pass its been a few days now and he still here I said my goodbye to him as unable to watch him take his last breath this is torture and I feel this sense that he suffering even though been told he isn’t I can’t imagine life without him I really don’t know how im going to get through this already feel lonely and lost and he hasn’t passed yet im waiting on that call i feel also guilty for not being with him at end but i also feel it’s right for me if that makes sense i was by his side throughout his ordeal 3months being with when it all happened i just feel i cant be with h to the very end and feel ive let him down when he probably needs me the most he has other family with him so he isn’t alone

3 Likes