Feeling Lost

Hi I’m new to this, so just hoping I’m not going to burden anyone with my worries but felt that this site might be a good place to start to not feeling so alone with my thoughts …I lost my mum 11 years ago to cancer and my dad 8 years ago to dementia and don’t think I’ve been the same since…my children were young at the time and I can’t stop being sad that my patents have missed out on so much, they idolised my boys and would have loved to have been part of them growing up, I miss chats with them, have a cuppa and a moan, I try to put on a brave face to the world and be happy for by kids but I’m so sad inside :cry: I think maybe I need to go to bereavement councelling?? But not sure if I’ve left it too long now xx

Hi Fluffybunny, you have come to the right place for support, I personally don’t think you ever get over the loss of your parents, you learn to live with it, like you my parents died when my children were young and I still feel the same, they missed so much, and would have absolutely loved all that happened to them, I think you are right, some counselling would help and it’s never to late to have it, Sue Ryder offers a counselling service and it’s not a long wait, so get in touch with them, sending love Jude xx

Hi FluffyBunny

I feel the same as you. My dad died 9 years before my daughter was born and my mum died when my daughter was 12.

My mum adored my daughter and I feel such sadness that she is no longer part of the day to day activities and watching her growing up.

I know it will never get better for me and the most I can hope is that I learn to live without them. Keeping myself busy is the way I cope. I personally hated counselling as it didn’t bring my mum back.

However it’s worth giving it a go, you won’t know otherwise.

Cheryl

Hello @Fluffybunny75,