First time here

Hi, this is my first time on this group. I didn’t know where to turn because I don’t think my friends and family understand. The grief comes in waves and was worse than ever this evening. I’m ok now, but exhausted. I’m 67 and this is the first time I’ve lived on my own and early mornings and late evenings are the worst. I hope that sharing how I feel with people here will help.

1 Like

Janet53
I’m sorry you are having such a hard time. Firstly, welcome to this forum where you can just speak what you are feeling with people who understand what you are going through
Please be reassured that whatever the cause of your grief there is help here for as long as you need it. We all suffer in different ways after a bereavement, and finding yourself at a certain age never having been alone in your life, can be frightening. You will cope, you will manage. As you get stronger you might even have the courage to reach out and ask for help. People close to us long to help when we’re grieving and if that help is practical so much the better.
I hope my response has helped and that others will reach out to you and give comfort.

All the best Janet,

Miche54

Thanks Miche for your reply. It’s only been 9 weeks since my husband died. I had a particularly bad evening yesterday, and this morning wasn’t much better. My friends and family only see the side of me that is holding it all together but overall I am coping.

Janet

1 Like

So very sorry for your loss Janet.
Nine weeks is a very short amount of time. It takes much longer until you even start to feel a bit better.

I had days where I would wake with a sick, empty feeling, it’s been 10 months for me today and that no longer happens.

Please tell your friends and family how you truly feel, they will want to help you and I’m sure they will help you.

Everyone on here does absolutely understand how you feel though.