Found a calling since losing a loved one?

Hi there,

This is my first time post so please bear with me.

Sadly, my Dad passed away suddenly nearly six weeks ago after suffering a massive hemorrhagic stroke due to a large bleed on the left hand side of his brain caused:/contributed by being on blood thinning medication. He was 70. I am an only child and have been trying to support my Mom with getting things done where possible as I know it is also hard for her becoming a widow.

Last Wednesday was my Dad’s funeral. It was at a local crematorium. I said I wanted to speak at his funeral and just share my own memories and funny things that people have told me about him. I do teach adults so used to standing up in front of people, so all I was worried about was actually being able to speak without breaking down in tears, which I managed to do. Aside from a little bit of nerves I was absolutely fine (but I purposely left out saying how much I loved and missed him as that is what gets me crying). I had so many remarks from people saying that my speech was good, I did well and how he would have been proud of me, so I felt proud too.

However, since the funeral it has got me wondering about what it would be like working in this industry. I don’t mean doing roles such as “back of house” but more the funeral celebrant side of things. My profession is a Lead Tutor and teach adults, so have had years of experience speaking in front of a group of people, and even did a speech at mine and my Husband’s wedding, so standing up to speak to others I am kind of used to. I have to plan lessons and prepare resources for work, so I am used to planning a lesson, so the skills there would be similar to planning a eulogy and/or a service, I talk to learners and colleagues, sometimes sensitive conversations and have compassion as well as being a good listener, so feel I have some skills that could be transferable.