Getting it out there. I miss dad.

Hello. This is my first time here so I wanted to tell my story and get it out there because my head is a mess.

I was diagnosed with covid 19 at the beginning of feb. My husband and kids also had it but not as bad. Before we got the result we just thought we had snotty head colds. It was my daughters birthday and stupidly, regrettably and devastatingly, my parents came over for the first time in months. They caught covid from me. The day they tested positive was the day they were booked for their first vaccination.
At day 10 I was put into a virtual covid ward due to lack of oxygen. I was very close to being sent to hospital but managed to wing it. In the meantime dad was showing cold symptoms. No one ever mentioned keeping an eye on oxygen levels. When we eventually checked, his were 85%. You have to be above 92 to stay out of hospital. He was taken to hospital the next day. He walked in for a scan, and within an hr he was put on oxygen. He was told he would be home in 2-3 days, then it was 7-10 days. He hated being on the bipap mask. I’ve never seen him so vulnerable. We talked via video call every day for a week. But on the Saturday, 6 days in, he deteriorated and was put on a ventilator. 6 days later, we held him as he passed away aged 68.
He had covid pneumonia, bacterial pneumonia, failed kidneys, heart was erratic, oxygen levels were :100: and his blood pressure was off the chart. The doctors/ nurses were amazing. And we were lucky to be with him when he passed.
5 weeks on, I can’t get my head around it. I have a lot of guilt. I miss dad so much, I struggle to cry and when I think of his last day I shut off. Cant cope with it. My strong, unbreakable dad managed to make it 68yrs of crap through life to be killed off by a stupid virus. Such a damn waste of a man that loved life. I’m heartbroken.

Hi kate,