How do i carry on

I am new to this ,i lost my husband in June this year ,literally 6 weeks after being diagnosed with lung cancer he was gone ,i still find it hard to accept hes not coming back ,and struggle every morning to get out of bed and face another day without him,i have a supportive and loving family,which i am truly for ,but they dont fill the terrible void in my heart ,i really dont know how to carry on .

5 Likes

It’s so hard when things happen quickly like that. I lost my husband in February this year after a very brief stay in hospital, 3 weeks, where they eventually discovered the cancer he’d had in his forties had come back. They did nothing and now I just have this huge hole. This site does help a lot because people don’t mind if you rant/scream/cry because we all know what you’re going through. I try to keep busy but sometimes, like today with the weather and I’ve come down with a nasty cold, it’s still really, really hard. Just remember there’s always someone on here you can talk to. Take care Gail xx

2 Likes

Thankyou so much Gail for your reply ,i know there are probably hundreds of people going through exactly the same as me ,but at this moment i have been feeling as though im the only one ,thats the readon i decided to join this site ,my heart goes out to you as i know exactly what you must be going through, i am trying to keep myself busy but sometimes i think what is the point ,i depended on my husband for so much that i feel so frightened that i wont be able to cope alone ,so at the moment i get up each morning and try to get through 1 day at at time ,sorry for rambling on ,thankyou again for your reply ,sending hugs. Diane

2 Likes

Hi Diane I lost my husband 5 weeks ago to lung cancer. I still cannot believe he’s gone, he went in the Hospice for pain management and just deteriorated very quickly within a few days.
It is the mornings I find most difficult, getting up and the house is so empty.
Are you in Rotherham?

1 Like