How do I plan ahead

This is my first time in joining a forum but wondered if anyone can help me to try and plan my life without my husband who died in May 2016. We had been together for over 40 years.

I don’t want to burden my son and daughter both of whom have their own battles of grief. I have continued to work full time which has helped but now for whatever reason, I find myself struggling to think what am I going to do. All the plans we had have gone, no more looking forward to getting home, pretending to everyone that I am fine. My husband was my guide, he made me laugh, he made me feel safe, he made me feel loved.

Sorry if this seems random but hoping that someone understands what I am trying to say

Scoobie - I’m so sorry to read of your distressing situation and I do agree about the plans we make that abruptly cease to be and how hard this is. It’s not necessarily the grand plans but the most mundane and insignificant things that we once before took for granted. I lost my Husband in October 16, and the sense of loss seems to be hitting harder. I am 51. I wish I could be more positive for you, but I so much send my heartfelt empathy and warmest regards and to let you know that yes, your feelings are completely understood. Carry on posting if it helps or private message if you like, either is ok.

Hello,

I understand what you are going through, 40 years is a very long time to share your life with your husband, I was together with mine for 15 but he was my best friend and made me laugh and feel special every day, he always kissed the ring everyday. I’ve just been keeping myself busy but there is now a big part of my life that is missing, and the thought of him not being here to share this rest of my life is upsetting! All the plans etc even the smallest ones like what to make for dinner or what to watch! Sometimes they are the hardest! Xx

Hello Sylv37