I just can’t cope

Hello, I’m new to this but I’m struggling so much at the moment, I lost my Dad 24 years ago and it hurts as much today as it did then, I also lost my Mum 11 years ago and my boyfriend has just been diagnosed End of Life and is so poorly right now. I know I sound unbelievably selfish but I am struggling so much and trying desperately to keep it all in as I don’t want my bf worrying about me when he is going through so much. I know there is nothing I can do as all the top consultants etc can’t do anything so how can I?? I just don’t want to lose him too. I know that is awful thinking about myself when he is going through so much but it really is unbearable :cry::cry:

You don’t sound selfish at all, @Cazzb, it’s completely understandable that you would be struggling. It’s difficult enough coping when someone we love is terminally ill and it sounds like it is bringing up feelings around your mum and dad, too. You are coping with a lot, and you deserve care and support.

Marie Curie have a support line for anyone who is living with or caring for someone who has a terminal illness, or have experienced a bereavement. You can call them on 0800 090 2309 or book a call. Their lines are open 8am – 6pm Monday to Friday, and 11am – 5pm on Saturdays.

You may also be experiencing anticipatory grief, which is grief while someone is still alive. Our support page explains more and has some ideas on how to cope.

Please do keep reaching out and take care,
Seaneen

Thankyou so much for your reply, advice and lovely, kind words. I will try and get chance to call and speak to someone

1 Like