I lost my best friend in November to suicide

I lost one of my best friends of 6 years suddenly and tragically to suicide almost 5 months ago and I am still struggling to cope with day to day life.

I have previously struggled with depression and anxiety to some capacity but my inability to process what has happened has made me spiral out of control, I have lost my grip on university (I am a student nurse), work and my relationships. I have been to the GP, tried a few antidepressants, stopped taking said antidepressants and am in talking therapy but I still can’t seem to shift anything.

The only reason I truly think I am still here and living is because I don’t want anyone to ever feel the depth of grief and pain I have felt and witnessed in my friend’s other friends and family members since they passed. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t blame my friend for a second. I am so incredibly proud of their strength throughout all of their battles, and there will never be a single day I don’t love and miss them deeply. but right now it feel like I’m stuck, frozen on the spot whilst the rest of the world moves forwards.

we were both 20 when they passed and I am now 21. I strangely feel grateful I have learnt how cruel this world can be so early on, but can’t find anyone my age in my life who can relate to this. I realise this is quite the unique experience, especially regarding the circumstances surrounding my friend’s death. But as much as my friends try to understand and help me through this they don’t quite seem to understand, which I get, as I say, its been a once in a lifetime experience, and many people will never experience this so I don’t blame them, they’re trying their best to help in the end with the knowledge they have.