I lost my dad. My life has stopped completely

I’m a newly qualified nurse.

My dad was my biggest cheerleader but passed away from covid in my final few weeks of my sign off placement.

I got to see him and take care of him the night before he passed. But a part of me wishes I didn’t. It broke my heart seeing how terribly he was being cared for. My dad is a proud man, and in he’s final days when we were unable to see him, it was clear he was not treated with the dignity he deserved.

I had to his funeral as my mum couldn’t with the support of family friends whilst finishing my placement in an intensive care unit. I was also given 1 weeks notice by the council to move home (into a disgusting flat ) a fortnight after he passed. In the middle of all this were my sons.

A week after finishing my nursing my dads funeral took place, three days after this I moved home.

I started my Job on a general ward a month after his funeral.

After my first week I came home to find A young boy who had been stabbed. Paramedics were already working on him however he sadly passed away. I didn’t know him but I broke down. I tried to continue to go to work and then the week following I had a covid contact. I was already withdrawn and not myself… but this tipped me over the edge. I completely it. I attempted to kill myself. I just did not want to continue anymore. I was mentally and physically exhausted and failing at everything. My bills were pilling too.

The G.p has now signed me off for the last 6 weeks and I am due to start work again in 2 weeks. I need the money and I know that I need to get back to normal, but I am still a complete mess. I am crying throughout most of my days. I’m lashing out at my children, I get angry when people talk to me about insignificant things.

I am usually very kind and empathetic to everyone and anyone and I know everyone has their issues. But I just can’t help it.