Life is never the same

I am an intensive care doctor so these last two months have been very scary as I am an older person and I was frightened to go into the hospital. I also realised that I did not want to die, despite being unable to get myself “together” as my father died a year ago, and my husband coming up to two years. I had to go however and use my skills to manage these very sick patients and support my colleagues, as despite what this incompetent government says, the nhs was overwhelmed. I cry every day for the both of them, and with no siblings or children, and my mum gone, I have no family. I do have friends. I thought I would not care, but I do want to live. I think that the thing I miss the most in these lonely lockdown days is not only the physical comfort but someone there to support me, hold my hand, listen to the days I’ve had uncertain about the best way to manage these really sick people when they have a disease the like of which none of us have seen before, and I have been a qualified doctor coming up to 40 years. I want someone to be in my corner, so I don’t have to fight all my battles alone. Someone to make some of the decisions. As an older woman my life with a partner is gone, so if I live as long as my father I’ll be on this earth another 30 years, as he died at 96. 30 more years of doing it all by myself. Scary and lonely, how do I live, when I really want to, with the prospect of grinding loneliness?

3 Likes