Life support

Hi all. Been reading a lot about the little lad on the news who’s on life support and his parents who are fighting tooth a nail trying to buy more time. I read a lot of the comments from the public on the news forums. It begs the question. When is enough, enough. I’m not an expert but have been in that exact position. I made the decision to switch my son’s life support off. As a parent you don’t ever want to give up. But I think you can get very clouded in your judgement. Obviously it goes without saying you have to exhaust every avenue. But there has to be a point that you are fighting a battle that can’t be won. And also ( no disrespect intended). You have to ask , who are you fighting the battle for, is it your son or daughter or is it for yourself. Doctors do not make these decisions lightly or on thier own, their is usually a team of doctors working on icu patients. A doctor’s conscience has to be clear at the making of such decisions…

It’s never easy under any circumstances saying goodbye to your child. But the life support yes/no, argument is something you have to live with afterwards. I’ve thought about it many many times but in the end I made the right decision in my own case. I still have to live with it. No parent should ever have to make the decision but then no parent ever wants to loose a child. Sometimes you simply have to except that all hope is gone. I listened to the mother on the news and in not so many words she was basically saying all the doctors and the experts have got it wrong. There was/is some movement in my son’s body. We were faced with the exact same. I no this will be controversial but 6 months, a year, two years , how long is the rite time.
Ok thanks for listening
Jim

1 Like