Lockdown lift opened the lid on my grief

I work in a school my soulmate and my everything died 5 weeks ago and I have been surrounded by my family parents and sister 24/7 since he passed away today’s announcement means I’m back to the classroom full time from the 8/3/2021. Truthfully his death as only just sinking in. I have held it in and not cried or fell apart until today. I went for a walk on my own today first solo outing and I just panicked and cried just to houses into my walk. I wanted to phone him ask about his day. Just struck me he’s not there I feel worse then when I found out he had died. ( Unknown cause of death and unexpected. )

I’m having bad panic attacks and feeling of emptiness, is 5 weeks in lockdown long enough to greive? Can I go to work have a panic attack and then get signed off sick. I’m also recovering from covid. If I’m with my parents and sister I’m safe and sometimes I manage a smile. On my own in class all day I can’t just have a panic attack. How did people go back to work? What job did you do?

Time is individual . I work as a lecturer in a college and I haven’t been able to go back to work yet ( I lost my husband on Chirstmas Eve 2020). I have moments when I think I can conquer the world but these don’t last long and I am back on my knees in floods of tears. I know I am not ready just yet to go back to work, I dont think I would be able to handle the stress of my job without my husband at home at the end of the day to talk to.

Take care K xx

1 Like

I lost my husband almost 4 weeks ago and off work at the moment on bereavement leave. I’m dreading going back as I feel I’m in a bubble at the moment, far from reality . I think once my life gets back to normal I will miss him even more. No one to come home to with my tea waiting on the table. Talk about our day and enjoy watching tv and doing nothing together. I can see me having to get a doctors note and as feel nothing like ready to go back to a full time job of 12 hour days .